Front of Raymond HallEntrance and clock tower

YVCC Library/Media Center Facebook imageYVCC HOMELIBRARY HOMEABOUT USCANVASCONTACT USMEDIA SERVERMY ACCOUNTWHAT'S NEW

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

DATABASES

 YVC Library subscription databases are available off campus to currently enrolled students or YVC employees.
 Your browser must be set to automatically accept all cookies.

TIPS FOR EFFECTIVE DATABASE SEARCHING

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

DATABASES BY SUBJECTS

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

Detailed database descriptions follow the list of "Databases by Subject"

   
GENERAL: Credo Reference | *EBSCO - All Subscriptions | *EBSCO Academic Search Complete | Britannica Online | eLibrary | Facts on File | Gale Virtual Reference Library | Issues and Controversies | JSTOR Register & Read (limited access) (additional information) | Points of View Reference Center | *ProQuest - All Subscriptions | *ProQuest Research Library | SIRS Issues Researcher
   
ARTS / HUMANITIES: ARTstor | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Arts | Voice of the Shuttle
    In addition, the General Databases include periodicals and journals related to the Humanities.
   
AUTOMOTIVE: Alldata | Mitchell 1 ProDemand
    Access to automotive databases is available only from computers in the Automotive Department.
   
BOOKS: Credo Reference | EBSCO Audiobooks | EBSCO eBooks | FirstSearch | Gale Virtual Reference Library | OneClickDigital eBooks and Audiobooks | Salem Press Online
   
BUSINESS: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Business
    In addition, the General Databases include periodicals and journals related to Business.
   
CRIMINOLOGY / LAW: *Criminal Justice Database | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Law
   
EDUCATION: *EBSCO Academic Search Complete | ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) | *Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)  | *ProQuest Research Library | *Teacher Reference Center (abstracts only)
   
ETHNIC STUDIES: CultureGrams | *Ethnic NewsWatch | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Multicultural Studies | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Nations and World Cultures
    In addition, the General Databases include periodicals and journals related to Ethnic Studies.
   
GOVERNMENT: CenStats | FedStats | Military and Government Collection | World Factbook
   
HEALTH / NURSING: *Alt HealthWatch | *Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic | Consumer Health Complete | *Family Health | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Medicine | *Health & Wellness Resource Center | *Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition | *Nursing and Allied Health | *PubMed
   
HISTORY: CultureGrams | European Views of the Americas 1493 to 1750 (index only) | Facts on File | Gale Virtual Reference Library: History | History Reference Center | Issues and Controversies in American History | Salem Press Histories | U.S. History in Context | World History in Context
    In addition, the General Databases include periodicals and journals related to History.
LITERATURE: Artemis Literary Sources (Single search of Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, and Literature Resource Center) | Columbia Granger's World of Poetry | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Literature | Literature Criticism Online | Literature Resource Center | Salem Literature: Critical Insights and Magill's Literary Annuals | Voice of the Shuttle
   
MAPS: AtoZ Maps Online
   
NEWS: Alt-PressWatch (Alternative Press) | Christian Science Monitor | Ethnic NewsWatch | Los Angeles Times | New York Times | U.S. Hispanic Newsstream | U.S. Major Dailies | U.S. Newsstream | U.S. West Newsstream | Wall Street Journal | Washington Post | World News Digest
   
SOCIAL SCIENCES: Gale Virtual Reference Library: Social Science | *PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (abstracts only) | *Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    In addition, the General Databases include periodicals and journals related to the Social Sciences.
   
SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY: AccessScience (ignore security warning) | Applied Science & Technology Full Text | *Computer Source | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Environment | Gale Virtual Reference Library: Science | GreenFILE | Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) | Principles of Science | Today's Science
    In addition, the General Databases include periodicals and journals related to the Sciences and Technology.

*Primary content:  Periodicals/journals

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

DETAILED DATABASE DESCRIPTIONS

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
 

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry *** Thousands of journals that help researchers track business and economic conditions, trends, corporate strategies, management techniques worldwide.
   
AccessScience Logo ***
Access to authoritative articles and research overviews in all major areas of science and technology, including data, tables, images, illustrations, news, features, and research tips. Search by content type, collection, topic or sub-topic, with semantic search, corrective spelling, and results filtering.
   
ALLDATA

Provides electronic automotive diagnostic and repair information, including diagnostic and repair information, factory technical service bulletin pages and illustrations, and original equipment wiring diagrams. 

ALLDATA access is available only from computers in the Automotive Department.

Alt-PressWatch *** Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses that provide viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
   
Artemus Logo ***
(Gale)
ARTEMIS (named for the Greek goddess who symbolizes new ideas, discovery, power, and “the hunt”) integrates formerly disparate digital collections (listed and linked individually below) to enable innovative literary research with a single search of the databases listed below.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY

LITERATURE CRITICISM ONLINE - more than 200,000 reprinted essays provide both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of a work. The product includes the following titles:

Children's Literature Review
Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Drama Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Shakespearian Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER - Critical, biographical, and contextual information

ON-LINE INDEX TO ALL GALE LITERARY PUBLICATIONS

 

   
ArtStor Logo***

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is:

  • A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data;

  • The tools to actively use those images; and

  • A restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users

ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.

Faculty access

   
AtoZ Maps Online *** Over 4,000 proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps, including political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
   
Census Seal

CENSTATS

Numerous statistics from the U.S. federal government, including Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report, County Business Patterns, Detailed Occupation by Race, Hispanic Origin and Sex data, USA Counties data, ZIP Code Business Patterns, and the Annual survey of manufacturers.

 

   
COLUMBIA GRANGER'S WORLD POETRY***

Over 250,000 poems in full text that are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian and 450,000 citations.  Includes poetry in Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. It also offers complete coverage of the works of several individual great poets, including the complete poems of Shelley, Blake, Burns, Keats, Marvell, Poe, Unamuno, Heine, Baudelaire, and other major poets.

   
Credo Reference Logo ***
A reference tool for students offering over 575 titles from over 70 publishers covering most major subjects. 
   
CRIMINAL JUSTICE DATABASE *** A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
   
CRITICAL INSIGHTS (Salem Literature)*** The series distills classic and current literary criticism by individual author's complete body of work or on a single work of literature.
   
   
Culture Grams logo
culturegrams
***
Includes different "editions" and features related to world cultures:

World edition - Experience the cultures of over 180 countries and territories in reports that include maps, statistics, a glossary, and in depth information.
STATES EDITION - Tour the 50 U. S. states and the District of Columbia in reports filled with facts, symbols, and time lines.
PHOTO GALLERY - More than 600 images representing over 50 countries.
FAMOUS PEOPLE - Short biographies on countries' best-known individuals.
RECIPE COLLECTION
- Native recipes from every country included in Culture Grams

   
EBSCO Logo
EBSCO
***

 primary Ebsco databases -  Search more than one EBSCO database in one search

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE - Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

ERIC - Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.

Secondary Ebsco databases

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia - Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. 

GREENFILE - Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) - Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

MAS Ultra - School Edition  - Provides full text for over 460 general interest and current events magazines.

Military AND GOVERNMENT COLLECTION  Provides full text for over 320 military related periodicals and general interest magazines. 

Primary Search Provides full text for 50 children's magazines and over 100 children's pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student. 

EBSCO logo

 

EBOOOKS ***

 


Collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost.  Additional ebooks are available in the
CATALOG.  To locate the entire collection, use the initials ACLS in the search dialog box.

   
eLibrary logo
eLibrary ***

A comprehensive, general reference collection of full-text versions of magazines, newspapers, reference books and TV, radio and government transcripts, maps and audio/video resources. It's collection covers reading levels through college and can be searched by keyword, topic, subject, publication or natural language question.

   
Britannica logo
Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition ***

Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, in addition to other research tools.

   
ERIC ***

Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. 

   
ETHNIC NEWSWATCH ***

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story."

   
Facts on File Logo***

Current information in core databases maintained by Facts On File:  News Service, Reuters News (last two weeks):

Issues and Controversies

Issues and Controversies in American History 

today's science

World News Digest

   
FedStats Logo


FedStats

Provides access to statistical data from over 70 federal agencies.  Includes popular items, such as Statistical Abstract of the United States, the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book, as well as Press Releases for the latest data.

   
FirstSearch Logo***
FIRSTSEARCH

Access several databases, including WorldCat (the world's largest database of information about books and other Library materials), ERIC, GPO and MEDLINE.  Search several databases with a single, easy-to-use interface.

   

Gale Virtual Reference Library ***

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research purchased by Yakima Valley College.

   
Health & Wellness database logo
Health and Wellness Resource Center ***
(Gale)

Health & Wellness Resource Center  is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information.

   
JSTOR logo
Jstor Register & Read
(limited access)
Register & Read is an experimental program to offer free, read-online access to individual scholars and researchers who register for a MyJSTOR account.  It includes approximately 75 journals from more than 40 publishers, a subset of the content in JSTOR. This includes content from the first volume and issue published for these journals through a recent year (generally 3-5 years ago).
   
LIBRARY, INFORMATION SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY ABSTRACTS (LISTA)

Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. (Abstracts only, not full-text.)

   

LITERATURE CRITICISM ONLINE***
(Gale
)
LITERATURE CRITICISM ONLINE provides access to centuries to tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays of analysis of the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals with the exact look and feel of the print originals.  The database includes:

Children's Literature Review
Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Drama Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Shakespearian Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

On-line index to all Gale literary publications

   
MAGILL'S LITERARY ANNUALS ***

Each year Magill's Literary Annual critically evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year.

   
Mitchell 1 Logo

Provides automotive repair information, auto repair data and diagnostics, auto repair manuals, auto maintenance, labor estimating, integrated repair, estimating, shop management software solutions.

Mitchell 1 access is available only from computers in the Automotive Department. 

   
NURSING AND ALLIED HEALTH (Proquest)  ***

Abstracting and indexing for more than 650 leading nursing, allied health, and related publications titles, with over 580 titles in full-text.

   
OneClickDigital logo
OneClickDigital ***

Downloadable audio books!  Listen to a book anytime, anyplace or anywhere! Also read e-books!       

 

   
Proquest Logo
PROQUEST ***
(search all Proquest databases with this link)

PROQUEST DATABASES:  This link defaults to searching of all the databases to which we subscribe, unless you select specific databases.  Proquest includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles. YVC subscribes to the following Proquest products:

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.

Alt-Press Watch - A full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.

ETHNIC NEWSWATCH - An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR - major daily newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE  - A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Los Angeles Times - Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.

National Newspaper Core - Detailed indexing helps you find news information.  Access to top news stories and the information contained in the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc Titles include the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

New York Times - Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

NURSING AND ALLIED HEALTH - Abstracting and indexing for more than 650 leading nursing, allied health, and related publications titles, with over 580 titles in full-text.

Research Library - Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

WALL STREET JOURNAL - financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

WASHINGTON POST - Coverage of national, international, and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials and columnists.

Washington State Newsstand - Full-text coverage of major Washington newspapers including the daily newspapers from Seattle, Tacoma, Spokane and Vancouver, plus selected coverage of other regional sources

WESTERN NEWSSTAND -  Access to leading newspapers from the Western Region of the United States including the states of CA, AZ, WA, OR, AK, HI, MT, ID, WY, NV, UT, CO and NM

ProQuest is provided jointly by the Washington State Library and YVC
and is paid for in part with federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds.

   
PubMed Logo
   PUBMED

National Library of Medicine's free periodical index to medical journals.  InterLibrary loan is available for journals that YVCC Library does not own.  Ask a librarian for assistance. 

PubMed tutorials

   
SALEM LITERATURE ***

Online companion subscription to the products published by Salem Press that the Library purchased in hard copy.  Titles currently owned by Raymond Library include MaGill's Literary Annuals and Critical Insights.

   
SIRS database logo***

 

Portal for SIRS® Issues Researcher, SIRS® Government Reporter, SIRS® Renaissance and SIRS® WebSelect. Updated daily, it provides valuable information on current social issues, economics, business, politics, global issues, scientific developments, health, history, government, culture, the arts and humanities. Full-text articles, primary source documents, multimedia and Internet resources are selected from thousands of reputable domestic and international publications and respected organizations.
 

   
Twayne’s Author Series *** (Gale)

A series of literary criticism that offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.  This eBook resource features the content of nearly 900 books from six print series — U.S. Authors Series Classic, English Writers Series Classic, World Authors Series Classic, Masterwork Studies, Studies in Short Fiction, and updated editions of U.S. Authors, World Authors and English Authors
   
 Voice of the Shuttle logo
VOICE OF THE SHUTTLE

"Structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media."

   
U.S. HISTORY IN CONTEXT *** (Gale)
 

Provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

   
WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT *** (Gale)

Features extensive coverage of the 20th century, both geographically and chronologically.  It also includes ancient Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25 reference titles and from 110 academic journals.

*** Off-campus access is available only to currently enrolled students and employees of Yakima Valley Community College.
 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Return to Library Homepage.

The links included within the Yakima Valley College (YVC) Library Web pages will take you out of the YVC Library site.  Links are limited to those that meet our educational purpose.  The linked sites are not under the control of YVC and YVC is not responsible for the contents of any linked site or any link contained in a linked site, or any changes or updates to such sites.  YVC is not responsible for Webcasting or any other form of transmission received from any linked site.  YVC provides these links solely as a convenience and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement by YVC or any association with their operators.

This page was created for Yakima Valley College (YVC). All rights reserved.

YVC's Non-Discrimination Statement

Revised 7/18/2016